This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Hong Kong

Hong Kong is made up of 18 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Hong Kong. Information on all primary administrative regions in Hong Kong.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Hong Kong alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Hong Kong

There are 18 regions in Hong Kong in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Hong Kong
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Kowloon City Kowloon City1.362,501Kowloon Kowloon2,019,533
Tsuen Wan Tsuen Wan District2.288,728Tsuen Wan Tsuen Wan288,728
Yuen Long Yuen Long District3.534,192Yuen Long Kau Hui Yuen Long Kau Hui141,900
Sha Tin Sha Tin4.630,273Sha Tin Sha Tin21,559
Tuen Mun Tuen Mun5.502,035Tuen Mun Tuen Mun16,940
Tai Po Tai Po District6.293,542Tai Po Tai Po16,302
Sai Kung Sai Kung District7.406,442Sai Kung Sai Kung11,927
Central and Western Central and Western District8.251,519Central Central-
Sham Shui Po Sham Shui Po9.365,540Sham Shui Po Sham Shui Po-
Wanchai Wan Chai10.155,196Wan Chai Wan Chai-
Wong Tai Sin Wong Tai Sin11.423,521Wong Tai Sin Wong Tai Sin-
Islands Islands District12.140,188--
Eastern Eastern13.587,690--
Southern Southern14.275,162--
Yau Tsim Mong Yau Tsim Mong15.280,548--
Kwon Tong Kwon Tong16.587,423--
Kwai Tsing Kwai Tsing17.523,300--
North North18.280,730--